Fri 09.04.2021 19.00 - 21.00

Tapiola Sinfonietta: Portal

Espoo Cultural Centre, Tapiola Sinfonietta - Kulttuuriaukio 2 02100 Espoo

Klaus Mäkelä, conductor and cello 
Pekka Kuusisto, violin 

Sauli Zinovjev: Cello Concerto ‘Die Welt – Ein Tor’ 
Caroline Shaw: Entr'acte 
Sauli Zinovjev: Violin Concerto ‘Der Leiermann’ 
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony no. 5 in D minor op. 107 ‘Reformation’ 

Tonight’s programme is an invitation to humanity and spirituality. In Zinovjev’s dramatic Cello Concerto and Shaw’s work, instruments lament and sigh, oscillating between dream and reality. Mendelssohn’s ‘Reformation’ Symphony is like a portal to a new and better world. Tapiola Sinfonietta is conducted by Klaus Mäkelä and the soloist is violinist Pekka Kuusisto.

At the afterparty, Mäkelä and Kuusisto present the world premiere of Sauli Zinovjev’s Duo for violin and cello.

NOTE: In the printed season programme 2020/21 title of the concert is Youth (Nuoruus).

The program is subject to change.
We kindly ask you to check up-to-date information: Special arrangements

Espoo Cultural Centre
Tickets from 29/23/12 € + delivery fee (from 1 €)